2009 Acomm Awards Winners Announced

< BACK TO TELECOMMUNICATION starstarstarstarstar   Science - Telecommunication Press Release
7th August 2009, 12:00am - Views: 908

Science Telecommunication Communications Alliance 1 image

Science Telecommunication Communications Alliance 2 image




The winners of the prestigious 2009 Communications Alliance and CommsDay

Awards were announced tonight at the Annual ACOMM Awards Dinner.

Communications Alliance CEO Anne Hurley said the high calibre of entries reflected

the increasing maturity of the industry.

“Digital confidence has been a key theme for 2009 and the communications industry

has a significant role to play in building digital skills and encouraging greater use of

communications technologies.  The record number of entries for the 2009 ACOMM

Awards reflects the maturity and professionalism of this industry, both of which are

integral to inspiring digital confidence among our users.  

“On behalf of the industry, I congratulate all of the award winners, finalists and our

2009 Telecommunications Ambassadors, Hugh Bradlow and Bevan Slattery, on their

commitment to achieving new standards of industry excellence,” Ms Hurley


Telstra Enterprise & Government was the winner of the Innovation for a Large

Company Award, with Leopard Labs taking out the Innovation SME Award.

Services to the Industry’ winners included Truman Hoyle Lawyers for Professional

Services Excellence, while Pipe Networks took the Partnerships for Growth Award. 

The Commitment to Customer Service Award was shared by iiNet for Consumer

Customer Service and Telstra Enterprise & Government for Corporate Customer


The Environmental Responsibility Award was won by Internode.

The inaugural Innovation in Content Delivery and Services through Partnership Award

was won by a partnership between Dialogue Communications and Singtel Optus.

The industry’s top honour for individual achievement, the 2009 Telecommunications

Ambassador Award, was shared by Hugh Bradlow of Telstra and Bevan Slattery of

Pipe Networks.     

Hugh is recognised as both a technologist and a futurist, having being involved in the

establishment of what is now a recognised centre of research excellence at the

University of Wollongong.  He is also a fellow of the Australian Academy of

Technological Sciences and Engineering.   

With an outstanding record as a visionary, Bevan has a personal quest to advance

Australia’s access to technology and promote progress in the telecommunications


Science Telecommunication Communications Alliance 3 image

Science Telecommunication Communications Alliance 4 image



Commenting on the outcome, Communications Day Publisher, Grahame Lynch said:

“The 2009 Awards evidence a new high standard of industry excellence.  Tonight’s

trophies were presented to the industry’s ‘most deserving’ but the real winners are

Australian businesses and consumers who are being increasingly well served by an

innovative, competitive and growing communications sector.”

Media information contact:

Einsteinz Communications

T: (02) 8905 0995

E: jennifer@einsteinz.com.au 

news articles logo NEWS ARTICLES
Contact News Articles |Remove this article